5.0 out of 5 stars

Historical fiction just doesn’t get any better than this. A wonderful tale of one of the most honorable men to grace this earth, William Marshal and his true partner in all things, his wife Isabelle.  The first novel, The Greatest Knight, covered more of William Marshal’s early life as a knight and courtier. This novel covers his life with Isabel and the dangers and terrors of living in the court of the King John, and then as regent for the young Henry III. I have to admit shedding more than a few tears at the last chapter, the end of Williams life.

I have read all of this author’s works that I can get my hands on and I am amazed at how consistly she is improving (not that the earlier works were poorly written at all). Always an excellent story, a great history lesson and it’s amazing how she effortlessly brings you into the sights, smells, sounds and life of another century. As someone else said, “The next best thing to time travel”.

