Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. I’ve been whittling away at my TBR pile and haven’t been looting too much, but I did put in two purchase requests that have just landed.

Anne Neville, daughter of the powerful Earl of Warwick, grows up during the War of the Roses, a time when kings and queens are made and destroyed in an on-going battle for the ultimate prize: the throne of England. As a child Anne falls in love with the ambitious, proud Richard of Gloucester, third son of the House of York. But when her father is branded a traitor, her family must flee to exile in France. As Anne matures into a beautiful, poised woman, skillfully navigating the treacherous royal court of Margaret of Anjou, she secretly longs for Richard, who has become a great man under his brother’s rule. But as their families scheme for power, Anne must protect her heart from betrayals on both sides-and from the man she has always loved, and cannot bring herself to trust.

I’ve heard mixed opinions on this one (as I understand it O’Brien previous books are historical romances), but I just had to see for myself.

A powerful literary debut inspired by a true story.  In 1898, Alaska is an untamed wilderness with an unforgiving climate. At the tail end of a world-wide depression, thousands of destitute people are drawn north by rumors of easy wealth coming out of the remote claims of the Gold Rush. Many of the pilgrims are unprepared for the hardships that await them and find nothing but a desolate landscape already pillaged of its riches by those who came before.

Hannah Nelson, a beautiful young Englishwoman, is one of the late arrivals. After following her husband to a glacier-wracked fjord in the company of three equally desperate men, she discovers that gold is only one of the desires that can consume a person’s soul…

Thanks to Tara at Book Babe for pointing this one out to me, I might have missed it otherwise.

Last bit of loot and not a bookish thing (don’t forget there are more than books  to be found at the library), I picked up DVD #2 of the old Dark Shadows series.  I’m afraid the discovery of this old series is going to seriously cut into my reading time until I’ve watched them all…

Yes, I was one of those young girls who had to rush home from school everyday to watch the latest installment of Barnabas the vampire.

