“My name is India Black. I am a whore.”

India Black is the proprietor of Lotus House, a house of ill-repute that caters to the gentlemen trade. As the story opens, one of her regular customers drops dead during his latest visit. India begins making arrangements for Bowser’s body to be discovered somewhere else, but things get a bit sticky when it’s revealed that the briefcase he was carrying contained some super-secret, highly damaging government memos that the Russian government would very much like to get their hands on. India is roped into helping French, the prime minister’s agent, in retrieving the briefcase from those dastardly Russians, 

****SLIGHT SPOILER WARNING*****

“Since the day of Bowser’s death, my world had turned upside down. I’d endured kidnapping (by the prime minister, no less), performed a naughty routine for a Russian count and had been held hostage at the Russian embassy. I’d nearly killed myself (and French) trying to steal Bowser’s case from William Gladstone’s hotel room, ridden in an open sleigh through some hellish weather, been kidnapped again (at least it was the Russkis this time, and not my own country-men) and was now on my way to France. Say what you will about the experience, at least I hadn’t been bored.”

****END SPOILER*****

This was a quick easy read, and a very entertaining romp filled with action, adventure, spies and counter-spies. Written in the first person, India’s voice is smart, witty and very irreverent. The verbal sparring between India and French was a lot of fun, and I look forward to seeing the relationship grow in future books. That said, my hands down favorite character was Vincent the street urchin, I’d very much like to take him home, lice not withstanding 😉

FTC? Library loot.

