Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.I haven’t been looting too much from the library as I’m tring to whittle away at my actual pile of owned books for The Biggest Book Loser contest at Paperbackswap so there’s just a couple this week.

One of my friends at Goodreads discovered this long-lost gem via a Bookmooch swap and we’re going to buddy it – although she got a head start on me with this one. The blurb:

“She was a beautiful young innocent, driven into the sins of that womanhood by the dark desires that ruled men’s hearts. You will never forget Lily — as a child watching her mother die in want…as an orphan struggling to protect her reckless brother…as a teen-aged innocent discovering the power of desire…as a fear-filled young girl learning to sell her body in the most elegant brothel in the wickedest city on earth…as a captivating beauty whom men would pay any price to possess…as a mother desperately trying to keep the truth from her daughter…as a woman forced by love to return to the city of her shame and seek to conquer it..

And you will never forget Lily’s story — as it moves from the Hell’s Kitchen squalor and Fifth Avenue splendour of old New York..to the rolling decks of a great clipper ship…to the brawling streets, the fantastic pleasure palaces, the magnificent Nob Hill mansions of San Francisco, through storm and earthquake and fire in a breathless saga of love, intrigue and illicit passion….”

My kinda book. I’ve also been looking for a South American setting for the Around the Wold in 80 days reading challenge at PBS (the only other one I had my eye on was huge) so I was thrilled when Tara at Book Babe reviewed this one and yay (!) the library had it in the catalog.

From critically acclaimed author Jaime Manrique, comes a breathtaking, sweeping novel based on the life of one of the most controversial women in the history of the Americas.

Before there was an Eva Peron, Collette, or Mata Hari, there was Manuela Saenz. Arguably one of the most fascinatingly sexy women in all history, she single–handedly helped to secure independence for much of South America from Spain.

Based on actual events, Our Lives Are The Rivers tells the life story of a woman who was willing to risk it all for her country –and her lover–and in whose legacy lies the history of an entire continent.

I also picked up a few interesting OOP’s at the FOL sale shelf, plus DVD #10 of the old Dark Shadows TV series. I am loving watching this series all over again (yes, I know it’s campy as all get out). except for the current storyline. I can’t wait for the Adam/Frankenstein story to end and Quentin’s to begin and another trip to the past.

That’s my loot for a while, anything good coming your way?

