Tags

Author Kimberly Cutter recounts the short life of Jeanne d’Arc (Jehanne here), The Maid of Orléans and later canonized as Saint Joan of Arc. This is one of those too complicated bits of history to try to explain in a review, and Wik can most definitely do it better than I can.

Joan’s history is a fascinating one, and I’ve been eyeing novels on her for some time (Mark Twain considered his book on Joan his best work), so I was thrilled when this showed up on Net Galley. However, the book I read was very dry and the history itself is hard to follow – there seems to be an assumption the reader is well versed on the period. When I read a historical novel, I do so with the expectation that I will be educated and entertained at the same time, I don’t expect to have to *read up* on the historical events before I begin the book.

The chapters were very short for the most part and I found this distracted from the overall flow of the story. I also didn’t find any emotional connection with the characters, particularly Joan, nor did I pick up on any grand passion or religious fervor for her Godly mission. Overall, this was a dry and slightly disappointing read as it currently stands, but perhaps a bit of editing and fleshing out of characters can raise the bar a bit higher. 2.5/5 stars.

