The three times in her life she’d been to Exbury Julia Beckett found herself mysteriously drawn to an old house called Greywethers, and when she inherits a tidy sum she decides to give life in the countryside a whirl. Julia settles in well with the locals, especially with the hunky owner of Crofton Hall, Geoffrey de Mornay. Croston Hall has a few secrets of its own – including a portrait of a previous owner with a striking resemblance to Geoffrey. In true Kearsley fashion things start going bump in the night and Julia begins having strange episodes where she’s living the life of Mariana, a woman who lived in the 17C during the reign of Charles II.

This is a hard one to put into words, and actually it’s best left to discover for yourself – both Julia and Mariana’s lives take some very interesting twists and turns as the past is slowly revealed. Is it possible Mariana lives again, and will once again find her long lost love? Needless to say, I loved every minute of it, and even when I thought I knew what the ending was, Ms. Kearsley pulled the rug right out from under me. I did not see that coming, but I absolutely loved it. Bravo. I want more.

Thanks to the folks at Sourcebooks and Net Galley for an early copy.

