Phoebe Scott (AKA Kitty Willis) is a struggling actress hoping for a shot at the big time, but to do that she pretty much needs to find herself a wealthy lover man to sponsor her. To make a long story short, a scantily dressed Phoebe attends a seriously decadent party where she meets Sir Edward (Ned) Chambers. Ned is still grieving the death of his beloved first wife, but his bosom buddy Viscount Ludovic DeVere is doing his darndest to get Ned to take a walk on the wild side…

Anyhoo, one thing leads to another and in trying to one up each other DeVere makes this wild bet and all three find themselves in quite a pickle.

May the same God save me…for I’m going to be hung, drawn, and quartered for spending last night rutting in the King of England’s bed!

Mind you, that quote is from the prologue so I’m not spoiling. All the fun is in finding how they got there and how in the h*** they are going to get out in one piece.

You have an impressive scepter, my liege…Do you wish me to pay full and proper obeisance to my king?”

“Dear God, yes.

Erotica is not a genre that I normally read, but I’m willing to go outside my comfort zone if it comes with a good story in a realistic historical setting (no wall-paper for this reader) – and A Wild Night’s Bride fits the bill. I laughed my arse off the entire time, and Ned and Phoebe sure can steam up the pages. I am very much looking forward to reading the rest of the novellas centered around that devil DeVere (series order from Goodreads here). 4/5 stars.

FTC? An Amazon verified purchase.

