3.0 out of 5 stars  The book begins in 1769 as the Winslows and Clarkes battle over water rights and a horse – was it Jane’s father who whacked off the ears of the Winslow horse?  Jane defies her father and despite the heated political sentiments decides to ship her off to tend to Aunt Gill in Boston.  Jane settles in and cares for her elderly aunt, but her world is soon torn asunder when she witnesses British troops shoot down five civilians (the Boston massacre), inflaming the rest of the town to a heated frenzy. Jane’s brother was shot, but he survived and the two have different recollections of what really happened.

Will Jane’s relationship with her brother survive their disparate testimony at the subsequent trials? Will Jane find more than she bargained for living with Aunt Gill? Will she marry the man her father choses or find love with another in Boston?I’m not sure if it was me or my current mood (life was a bit off-kilter the last week or so), but I never warmed to Jane nor cared much what happened to her. I really had a hard time keeping track of some of the lesser characters, as well as events as related by the author. Perhaps I’m a bit dense but I couldn’t always tell exactly what was going on – the writing was too obtuse for my tastes – and in the end the author just did not suck me into her world. A shame as the massacre and ensuing aftermath should make for gripping reading, but it just didn’t work for this reader – I didn’t feel the crowd’s anger nor the soldier’s fear of the crowd – I didn’t feel anything at all. A good book, just not a great one.

My review is based on an ARC I received through Librarything Early Reviewers.

